Home » Uncategorized » About me

About me

Here is some background about me: I come from the western, French-speaking part of Switzerland. I am a physician and neuroscientist with (obviously) a major interest in understanding the function of the brain in health and disease. Other interests of mine that I hope will be relevant for this blog include video games, programming, data visualization, statistics, epidemiology, medical writing… You can read more about what I intend to post in this blog here.

In more detail: I trained as a physician at Universite de Geneve, then completed a PhD in neuroscience from the Universites de Geneve et Lausanne. I started training as a resident physician, including internal medicine at Hopital Neuchatelois La Chaux-de-Fonds and neurology, epilepsy and electroencephalography in Hopitaux Universitaires de Geneve. Because it’s easy for physician-scientists in Switzerland to transiently interrupt residency training in order to do some research, I moved to New York 3 years ago. After several months at the Cognitive Neurophysiology Laboratory of Albert Einstein College of Medicine, I joined the Laboratory for Multimodal Human Brain Mapping of the Feinstein Institute for Medical Research and North Shore-Long Island Jewish Health System, where I worked for just over 2 years. I have just joined the Neurology division of Hopitaux Universitaires de Geneve again to finish residency training and get the board certification in neurology.

My interests in neuroscience and neurology were sparked by reading children’s books about the human body (having physician parents must have helped). Later on, the books of Oliver Sacks were a major factor too (especially The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat). I decided to go on and specialize in these areas during medical school, also thanks in part to the Neuroclub, the student interest group in neuroscience of Universite de Geneve, that fostered my curiosity.

Leave a Reply

