Home » Neuroscience » What I’ll blog about at #SfN14

What I’ll blog about at #SfN14

I’m happy to announce that I’ll be one of the Society for Neuroscience’s official bloggers during the 2014 Annual Meeting, starting this Saturday November 15 in Washington DC. What does it mean? Essentially, that the SfN links to my blog (I will also try and cross-post on the SfN’s own platform, NeurOnLine–see here, for instance). Note that I’m also an editor for the PLOS Neuroscience Community, and we’ve put together a group of bloggers and tweeters who will provide collaborative coverage of the conference. So, given the many sources of information about the meeting that are available to you, why should you read this blog at all? Here, I’ll try to tell you what I intend to write about, so that you can make up your mind (and perhaps also learn about that awesome poster session that you somehow missed when preparing your itinerary!).

I like studying brains in their working environment, the body, hence I’ll focus on in vivo studies. I will report mostly on human neuroscience, with some work in other mammals thrown in (I worked with mice and rats during my PhD). My interests range from sensory perception through multisensory integration to cognition. As someone with dual training in neuroscience and neurology, I’m always interested in work on diseases or in patients–particularly those suffering from epilepsy. My method of predilection is electrophysiology, and especially intracranial EEG in humans, therefore I’ll be reporting on various studies that use that approach. Also, video games and music are important to me, so you can expect that I’ll be keeping an eye on studies about either (or both: if your poster title is “Experienced players of Rock Star have better multisensory discrimination abilities: an EEG study”, give me a call!). Finally, I spend most of my time on the poster floors, because I appreciate the interaction with the authors that posters allow, and that you don’t get at a talk.


What follows is a tentative list of what I would like to attend:

Sunday 1-3 PM: The Neuroscience of Gaming (WCC 201). I’ll post something about this one for sure.

Sunday 1-5 PM: Functional mechanisms of attention 1 (posters RR16-RR40).

On Sunday afternoon, I also warmly recommend the Symposium on studying human cognition with intracranial EEG and electrical brain stimulation, but since I already saw half of the talks at Human Brain Mapping 2014 this summer, I’ll pass this time.

Monday 8-12 AM: Oscillations: EEG (posters C37-C59). I’m especially happy to announce my colleague David Groppe’s poster, Electrocorticographic oscillatory connectivity predicts low frequency resting state functional magnetic resonance imaging connectivity. The man has a blog, too, and an excellent one at that! His presentation time is 10 AM.

Monday 8-12 AM: Multisensory and Temporal Factors in Cross-Modal Processing (posters DD8-DD25).

Also on Monday morning at 8 AM, I’ll try to visit poster M6An EEG methodology to localize the irritative cortices in a preclinical model of focal epilepsy, by the group of J. Riera from Miami, and poster VV17Elucidating brain network dynamics with resting-state fMRI and electrocorticography, from J. Parvizi’s team in Stanford. That’s going to mean a lot of walking, but hey, SfN is work!

Monday 3:15-4:25 PM: Cellular and Molecular Mechanisms of Explicit Learning in the Hippocampus – Roger A. Nicoll (WCC Hall D). The large SfN lectures are often extremely good–if you attended last year’s meeting in San Diego, you might remember the stellar presentation given by Doris Tsao. I’m very much looking forward to hearing Dr. Nicoll review long-term potentiation (LTP), our best candidate for the neural substrates of memory.

Tuesday 8-12 AM: Auditory Processing: Temporal, Frequency, and Spectral Processing-Perception (posters FF2-FF12).

Tuesday 1-5 PM: Multisensory: Cross-Modal Processing in Humans, Audio-Visual (posters CC35-DD11). I’ll be presenting my own poster, Phase tracking of visual speech in the human auditory cortex revealed by intracranial EEG. Yay! My presentation time is 2 PM.

Another poster on which I worked will be presented by my PI, Ashesh Mehta, Tuesday at 3 PM (SS18)Failure of the default mode network to deactivate precedes attentional lapses: An intracranial EEG study.

Also on Tuesday afternoon are interesting poster sessions on Human Studies of Epilepsy (posters L10-O1) and Auditory Processing: Human Studies of Perception, Cognition, and Action (posters CC7-CC34). I probably won’t have the time to check those out in detail, but once you are done visiting my poster, you might want to give them a look!

Wednesday 1-4 PM: Predictive Coding: Human Cognition (WCC 152A).

Two of my colleagues, Ido Davidesco and Corey Keller, will present their work, A causal role of the fusiform face area in face perception, on Wednesday at 4 PM (poster II19) (you’ll have to postpone that early flight back home, I’m afraid).


Now, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy: you can expect the odd post about the commercial exhibition, the bus ride to DC, the social events, the best burger/ramen/pizza within 5 blocks of the convention center…

Leave a Reply

